Tell Me What Is True

These are shadow days, when the dark imprints of more Covid restrictions slant long across our days. And the gloom of another round of distance learning makes it hard to see the light.

So to keep hope alive, every night before we go to sleep, Travis and I look into each other’s eyes and say, “Tell me what is true.”

That can be a hard thing to do, these days. There are so many voices shouting in our ears and glaring from our screens and whispering in our own minds that are not saying what is true. And our own exhausted emotions so quickly fall prey to the sensational over-simplifications, the frustration-laced outbursts, and the hopeless despair.

And so we go back and forth, reminding each other of what we know is true, even if we don’t feel it.

Tell me what is true.

It can be hard even to see what is true these days, much less keep it in front of us.

But truth can be found. It may take more effort, more discernment, and more intentionality than ever before, but Truth is offering us a relationship with Him—the safest place of all in this world full of division and rage and grief.

Tell me what is true.

My heart needs this daily rhythm of speaking and receiving truth. And maybe yours does, too. So let me tell you a few things that are true.

It is true that when God said, “Give thanks in all circumstances,” He meant situations like these, too.

It is true that how we treat each other matters far more than who is right. Be kind.

It is true that falling asleep listening to the sound of Scripture being read by David Heath’s rich voice is far superior to falling asleep listening to the sound of my own anxious thoughts.

It is true that when I let myself start to believe that this is significant suffering, I dull myself to the reality of the many around the world who are actually suffering deep injustices and evil. Perspective doesn’t magically change my situation, but it should change my view of the situation.

It is true that I can rest in the fact that God is working all things out for good.

It is true that donuts and coffee don’t actually make anything better, but they sure help.

It is true that dwelling on the feelings of helplessness and rage and self-pity only keeps me from being able to serve and love those right around me. And inversely, focusing on serving and loving others dilutes that powerful cocktail of helplessness, rage, and self-pity.

It is true that His grace is sufficient for me. Every day. Every moment.

And it is true that God is with us, and that is enough.

Care to join this practice of truth-speaking in the comments? I would love to hear from you. Tell me what is true.

Published by meghan.brubaker

I am many things, too many to describe in a neat little package. I'm a wife to a wonderful man who I love with everything I have. I'm a teacher to sixth graders at a private Christian school. I'm a lover of yellow and a delighter in beauty. I'm a writer, a reader, a thinker, a feeler. I'm a casual piano player and a serious believer in the power of knowledge. I'm a lover of God, and I am beautifully loved by Him.

2 thoughts on “Tell Me What Is True

  1. We can’t really live without hope, but sometimes it is oh so hard to keep hoping. It’s beautiful that you have found a physical practice to help you keep hope alive in your hearts ❤ It is true that sometimes I need something tangible to remind me of what I know deep down inside.

Leave a comment